Chakra Basics

EvColored Chakras With Descriptionsery crystal is associated with one or more of the chakras based mostly on the stone’s color, because each chakra is associated with a different color.

So, what is a chakra?

The Basics

According to Indian religious tradition, a chakra is a focus of energy that spins like a wheel. The chakras correspond to different parts of our physical body. There are seven main chakras that are talked about most often. These seven chakras influence our everyday lives. The chakras work both separately and together.

Ideally, all of our chakras work equally well so that energy can flow easily from one chakra to another. If any of our chakras are out of balance — either overactive or underactive — we may experience spiritual, emotional, and/or physical problems.

Below are some quick notes about each chakra — their location, their colors, and a few of the many crystals that can help balance the energy of that particular chakra. Click the links if you would like more details about a particular chakra and learn the possible signs of imbalance.

Root Chakra – Base of the spine
Color  – Red
Crystals – Apache Tear, Bloodstone, Hematite, Red Jasper

Sacral Chakra – Stomach, below the naval
Color – Orange
Crystal – Orange Calcite

Solar Plexus Chakra – Stomach, above the naval
Color – Yellow
Crystals – Citrine

Heart Chakra – Middle of the chest
Colors – Green, Pink
Crystals – Bloodstone, Rose Quartz

Throat Chakra – Neck
Color – Blue
Crystals –  Angelite, Lapis Lazuli

Third Eye Chakra – Middle of the forehead
Color – Indigo
Crystals – Labradorite, Lapis Lazuli

Crown Chakra – Top of the head
Colors – Violet, White
Crystals – Amethyst, Clear Quartz


Crystals representing the seven major chakras
Crystals representing the seven major chakras. From top to bottom: crown chakra – amethyst (top left) and clear quartz (top right); third eye chakra – lapis lazuli; throat chakra – angelite; heart chakra – moss agate (left) and rose quartz (right); solar plexus chakra – citrine; sacral chakra – orange calcite; root chakra – red jasper (bottom left) and apache tear (bottom right). Photo by A.D. Joyce